A Whisper

12033223_10153144572227467_3830734144492192687_n

Something caught my eye one day as I was driving.

Last night at dance class, we were asked Who the Holy Spirit was to us. So many thoughts rushed through my mind, but then the answer was clear.

To me, He is a Whisper.

I’m sensitive to LOUD. And I grew up in a lot of LOUD. Demanding voices. Arguing voices. Teasing voices and shaming voices. Do This and Be This voices. Threatening voices, then silent voices that instead chose to ignore for long stretches of time. Confusing voices that insisted that they loved but then they hit. Lots and lots of yelling voices saying mean, mean things. Accusing voices and condemning voices that insisted they were always right.

Very wrong voices that I chose to walk away from once and for all.

12038188_10153144573307467_3996738052802972897_n

Such an incredible little cloud formation

In the midst of the primary LOUD voices, another One entered my life whose Voice was gentle and kind. I could trust this declaration of Love! An affirming Voice that brought hope to my hurt and light to my life. It has taken me a long time to turn my ear consistently to this quiet Voice and to receive the sweet words spoken to my heart. After the birth of my first child, I remember standing over the crib in the middle of the night watching her sleeping. And night after night, God would whisper to me, “I watch over you like this too, with a heart so full of love and joy.” And it was too hard for me to believe at that time. But He has been gently persistent in whispering this to me.

11223497_10153144573332467_527838523848307079_n

The cloud looked so much like a dove and appeared to be moving, though it was only my perspective shifting as I drove closer.

I’m still sensitive to loud voices that insist on their own way, those voices that blast over other voices and don’t pause to listen. I find myself pulling away or withdrawing inwardly when I hear these kinds of voices, instinctively aware that these are not SAFE types of voices. Not when they are so LOUD and pushing their own way.

But the Voice of the Holy Spirit is gentle. He confirms the Truth of God’s Word, affirms God’s love and purpose, guides and counsels. He leads and is always there. His is a safe and trustworthy Voice. A gentle Whisper.

One of my favorite Scriptures is 1 Kings 19:12-13:

Then He said, “Go out, and stand on the mountain before the Lord.” And behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind tore into the mountains and broke the rocks in pieces before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind; and after the wind an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake; and after the earthquake a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire; and after the fire, a still small voice.

